Reviews

8.3
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.9
Comfort
8.1
Property location
8.6
Facilities
8.1
Staff
8.8
Value
7.5

Reviews

    pl

    Review score

    6.7
    8 April 2018

    Underwhelming

    The hotel itself is overrated. We cannot concur with the numerous positive ratings. The photos available have been carefully crafted and are not representative of the whole. While the complex has potential it is not realized. The interior and grounds are loveless and without concept and needy of further renovation. Alone the restaurant we can say met expectations and served to inspire although the breakfast was no more than normal. Sorry but we find there are many better hotels at this price point available albeit maybe not so well located.
    The area is surely beautiful. Unfortunately we were forced to shorten our planned stay due to a family emergency so could not benefit from the extensive walks and sights that the region offers.
    MariaCyntia
    id

    Review score

    8.0
    4 March 2018

    Schloss Pursschenstein is a very nice place to stay. Nice rooms, breakfast/dinner excellent.

    When we left at 7 o'clock in the morning, nobody was there at the reception. We knew before and the staff prepaired a very nice breakfastbox for us, but still, it felt a little bit strange that we closed the door of the hotel without seeing somebody.
    Breakfast was very good, also dinner in the restaurant of the hotel. It was a nice stay in the castle which has been very good renovated.
    Wolfram
    de

    Review score

    8.3
    4 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    de

    Review score

    7.9
    31 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Andrew
    se

    Review score

    10
    22 October 2017
    The pool
    A Wonderful 3 days in a mountain castle. WOW !!!
    Mark
    ca

    Review score

    10
    18 September 2017
    Beautiful castle grounds in a wonderful area. Great place to stay! Breakfast was delicious and the restaurant is beautiful
    cz

    Review score

    9.6
    28 August 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Marcel
    nl

    Review score

    9.0
    11 December 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Juergen
    tz

    Review score

    9.2
    2 October 2016

    Loved our stay in this beautiful castle of the Erzgebirge!

    They cooked delicious vegetarian food for me but they should have a vegetarian dish on the menu. The furniture in some of the suites we saw but that is a matter of taste and not that something is wrong.
    We loved our stay in this beautiful castle and congratulate owners for restoring this property and opening a 4 star hotel. The Castle itself is beautiful, the gardens are lovely...so, it's a perfect venue for a wedding or birthday. Warm ambience in dining room which used to be coach room. Delicious food, Good helpful staff - loved the classical music. Great breakfast. Chose double room in main building which we found very comfortable and cosy.. Situated in the heart of the Erzgebirge, such a beautiful area.
    Lara
    au

    Review score

    10
    26 September 2016

    Perfect stay in a German Castle

    Nothing, we had a fantastic stay
    Such a beautiful location, lovely old castle with a modern touch.
    dk

    Review score

    10
    11 September 2016

    The weight of Sachsen history

    An impressive restoration of the castle and a hotel that is a credit to both management and staff. The quality of service and food in the restaurant was far beyond that expected for a rural area. We will not hesitate to visit again it was a pleasure.
    Harriët
    nl

    Review score

    8.3
    21 August 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Elisabeth
    de

    Review score

    8.8
    6 August 2016
    Breakfast was just standard.
    Bed was very comfortable.
    Martin
    sk

    Review score

    10
    4 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Uta
    us

    Review score

    8.3
    4 January 2018

    Romantic rustic getaway with a bit of East Bloc flavor

    The restaurant is located and appointed beautifully but the menu was a little strange. There were only 5 main courses on the castle's menu--and 2 of them were burgers and one a Wiener Schnitzel. Those are very pedestrian dishes and we would have expected a bit more of a gourmet touch to match the ambiance.
    It's a real castle! Great little Spa in the castle basements. Very romantic in the snow.
    br

    Review score

    7.5
    13 May 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    us

    Review score

    9.6
    10 April 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    john
    us

    Review score

    7.5
    12 December 2016
    Parking lot was far away. Your had to walk up unsaved road that was muddy.
    Rooms were large we had a sitting room and a bedroom. Very nice.
    William
    de

    Review score

    9.2
    13 November 2016

    Great food and location...and in a castle!!

    We arrived on a Thursday night and found the restaurant closed. It wasn't until the next day that we found out that was just a day off for the staff, so ask before arrival. We made up for it at a wonderful breakfast and outstanding dinner the next night. The castle had a great tour guide but infortunately for us the tour was not in English. A printed guide would help the already fantastic experience.
    The location was great for walkers. We hiked over the hill to reach Seiffen....it took about an hour. The hotel is a castle!! That is really exciting. The restaurant on the property was awesome with great service and amazing quisine.
    GLENN
    ca

    Review score

    9.6
    3 August 2016

    Lovely setting, excellent food and staff

    Our attic room, although it was very nice with exposed beams, was a little hot and the window blind was not adequate to darken room if the window was open.
    Loved the castle and it's history, very nice surroundings, staff and food.
Loading reviews